`

bih - astrid mania /review

bih /text

The complexity of this exhibition [Trouble with Realism] and its mental correlations might best be condensed in this short video by Ulrich Polster. For a few minutes we see, greetings from Claude Monet, a heystack. Wether we are looking at a freeze frame or a cinematic shot is hard to tell. One thinks to observe how haze scraps are slightly moving, but this might be as well an illusion. This reference to art history is broken up by the title of this work: Bosnia and Herzegovina (Han Pijesak, Republika Srpska, 07.08.2007).
Of course wether this field in fact belongs to the location close to Sarajevo that has been the scene for awful war events is hard to examine. But the innocence of this view has dissapeared. The knowledge about the abominations during the war in Yougoslavia pushes itself in front of the image and dyes it.
So what is it what we see? How strongly does our knowledge of certain facts determine what we read in an image? How is the motif we are looking at determined politically, ideologically, esthetically? And can two individuals with their completely different memories, associations, mentalities and experiences ever see one thing as the same? And if we can not be sure about what we are seeing, how can we presume to form an opinion?

Astrid Mania, artnet Magazin, 17. Nov. 2009

Complete article

`

bih - astrid mania /review

bih /text

Die Komplexität dieser Ausstellung [Trouble With Realism] und ihrer Gedankenbezüge bündelt sich vielleicht am eindringlichsten in dem kurzen Video von Ulrich Polster. Wenige Minuten lang sieht man, Claude Monet lässt grüßen, einen Heuhaufen. Ob man aber ein Standbild erblickt oder eine filmische Aufnahme, lässt sich schwer entscheiden. Man meint zu beobachten, wie sich Dunstfetzen leicht bewegen, aber dies mag auch nichts weiter als Täuschung sein. Aufgebrochen wird die kunsthistorische Referenz durch den Titel des Werks: Bosnien and Herzegowina (Han Pijesak, Republika Srpska, 07.08.2007).
Überprüfen lässt sich natürlich nicht, ob es sich hier tatsächlich um ein Feld des Ortes in der Nähe von Sarajevo handelt, der Schauplatz tragischer Kriegsereignisse war. Doch die Unschuld des Blicks ist dahin. Das Wissen um die Gräuel im Jugoslawienkrieg schiebt sich vor das Bild und färbt es ein.
Was also sehen wir? Wie sehr bestimmt unsere Kenntnis bestimmter Sachverhalte, was wir in einem Bild lesen? Wie politisch, ideologisch, ästhetisch vorgeprägt ist das Motiv, auf das wir schauen? Und sehen überhaupt zwei Individuen mit ihren ganz unterschiedlichen Erinnerungen, Assoziationen, Mentalitäten und Erfahrungen jemals das Gleiche? Und wenn wir schon nicht sicher sind, was wir sehen, wie können wir uns dann anmaßen, uns davon ein Bild zu machen?

Astrid Mania, artnet Magazin, 17. Nov. 2009

Vollständiger Artikel